The winner

You turned your life into a game.
You gambled the best thing you ever had only to be left with nothing.
You didn’t win.
You didn’t come out on top.
And as for her, she didn’t win first prize either.
She pulled herself into a trap.
I guess in the end she got what she deserved…
She knew it all along, how twisted and manipulative you were.
I guess that’s where the game became even between us, I knew these things all along also, yet continued to live in this dark hole.

She laughs; she calls herself lucky, she claims to be ‘in love’.
She is none of those things.
Her laugh, it is fake.
Her luck, is misfortune in disguise.
She can only ever be in love with the idea of what ‘could be’.
Because I tell you, you can not change the devil.
You can not warm a heart that is ever so frozen.
You can not change a person forever.
Who they are is who they are, and they will do whatever it takes and say whatever it takes to get what they want.

She is blinded by the lies, the stories, the hope of ‘someday’. She can not see the truth, no matter how exposed to it she is.
Standing back from those shoes where I once stood, I see it all. Every word, every lie, every moment.
462 days of the same life crushing routine.
And only now I see it. Only once I allowed it to destroy me.

So as she smiles and sees herself as ‘above me’ because she ‘won’ the guy,
I laugh. As in the end, who is the true winner?
It’s the girl who got to escape, find her two feet again, rebuild her identity, change her life for the better, restore her health and get back in touch with her soul. Its me.

She may have the guy, but I have much more. I have my life back, my soul and my real happiness.

So I say thank you. Thank you for taking away the toxin in my life and allowing me to find my paradise. Thank you for showing me exactly what I don’t want or need in life, for allowing me to find my purpose.
Although after what you’ve done you do deserve this hurt and pain, you both deserve each other. But I hope you realise that what you have isn’t ‘forever’. A man like that is incapable of loving you the way you think he does.
So I tell you, don’t ever let another girl be the reason to break free. Listen to your inner voice, trust your instincts and become a winner. Never settle for less than you deserve.

I’m not saying its easy, I’m not saying its smooth.
I’m saying it’s worth it,
To walk away from something that serves you less than you are worthy of.
Know who you are, don’t let somebody define that for you, and live the life you dreamed of with people who genuinely respect and appreciate you.

Life is too short to waste on games and horrible people.

Every relationship has its ups and downs, but when you feel yourself facing more negatives than positives, maybe you need to reconsider your definition of happiness.

Step back from the situation and think of the transformation you can make. It’s going to be a long journey, but one in which you can look back and be proud of. Don’t ever allow your broken heart to be the end of you, put it back together and make it your new beginning. I believe in you.

Leave a Reply

